PROUD of The Hatton Way; Learning, Growing, Achieving Together


Pupil assessment is an ongoing process at Hatton and is used by teachers to differentiated lessons to ensure all children are working to their full potential.  Click here to find out more about how pupils are assessed at Hatton.

Information on data, statistics and research, including KS2 results can be found by clicking here” 

The Curriculum at Hatton School is broad and balanced and is designed to meet the needs of all our learners.  We operate a two year topic cycle and develop our curriculum within Key Stages in line with the National Curriculum. It is differentiated and personalised which makes progression possible for each child, developing the knowledge and skills of pupils and prepares them for future life, promotes their spiritual, moral, cultural  and social development.  

Phonics Schemes

The main phonics scheme used throughout the school is “Letters and Sounds” providing a 6-phase teaching programme to teach children how the alphabet works for reading and spelling.  This is complemented with other schemes where necessary.

Letters and Sounds is a phonics resource published by the Department for Education and Skills in 2007. It aims to build children's speaking and listening skills in their own right as well as to prepare children for learning to read by developing their phonic knowledge and skills. It sets out a detailed and systematic programme for teaching phonic skills for children starting by the age of five, with the aim of them becoming fluent readers.


Phonic Knowledge and Skills

Phase One

Activities are divided into seven aspects, including environmental sounds, instrumental sounds, body sounds, rhythm and rhyme, alliteration, voice sounds and finally oral blending and segmenting.

Phase Two

Learning 19 letters of the alphabet and one sound for each. Blending sounds together to make words. Segmenting words into their separate sounds. Beginning to read simple captions.

Phase Three

The remaining 7 letters of the alphabet, one sound for each. Graphemes such as ch, oo, th representing the remaining phonemes not covered by single letters. Reading captions, sentences and questions. On completion of this phase, children will have learnt the "simple code", i.e. one grapheme for each phoneme in the English language.

Phase Four

No new grapheme-phoneme correspondences are taught in this phase. Children learn to blend and segent longer words with adjacet consonants, e.g. swim, clap, jump.

Phase Five

Now we move on to the "complex code". Children learn more graphemes for the phonemes which they already know, plus different ways of pronouncing the graphemes they already know.

Phase Six

Working on spelling, including prefixes and suffixes, doubling and dropping letters etc.


Reading Scheme

At Hatton we encourage children to develop an enjoyment for books and to understand that print has meaning. We aim to make the teaching of reading as individualised as possible. Our Children have access to a wide variety of books that are appropriate to all readers,  and we use the  Oxford Reading Scheme Books and resources for all ages and reading levels, which focus on skill development.  Children take part in shared reading using ‘big books’ and topic books, and these are brought alive by making them multi-sensory.  Books are also supported with the use of “Makaton” signing/symbols and “Communicate in Print” to support our learners access the meaning. 


Page Hits: 01266
Website Hits: 243619